Hiawatha Test
  • Home
  • Downloads
  • Privacy Policy
  • Return to Portal
  • About Hiawatha National Forest

    While Hiawatha National Forest has many similarities to other National Forests across the country, each Forest has its own particular footprint. For instance, as the only National Forest with lands touching Lakes Superior, Huron and Michigan, the Hiawatha is known as “The Great Lakes National Forest.” We are also the only National Forest that owns and manages historic lighthouses, so I guess we could be known as "The Great Lakes and Lighthouses National Forest"!

    From the soaring cliffs and sandy beaches of Grand Island National Recreation Area to the monarch research plots at Peninsula Point Lighthouse; from the meandering fall color drive along Whitefish Scenic Byway to the tranquil campsites at one of our eighteen developed campgrounds; from over 160 miles of designated snowmobile trails to the stellar cross-country ski trails – Hiawatha National Forest offers an impressive array of campgrounds, trails, historic sites, and interpretive programming. There is truly something for just about everyone!